What is love?

Looking for a readily understood, greatly simplified paraphrase of love-related ideas present in Renaissance poetry? Set the period to the tune of “What is Love?”, and modify a few words!

“What is love?” (Dante to Virgil, Canto XVIII, Inferno)

“Oh baby you’ve hurt me, don’t hurt me no more.” (Cavalcanti, Voi che per gli occhi mi passaste il core)

“Oh, I don’t know why you’re not there.” (da Pistoia, Come non è con voi a questa festa)

“I give you my love, but you don’t care.” (Cavalcanti, Sonnet IX)

“So what is right and what is wrong?” (Dante, Canto XVIII, Inferno)

“I’ve been given three signs!” (Dante in essentially all of Vita nuova)

This is what I shamelessly produce when I’m sick, tired, and mid-Developmental Cardiology review.  That can’t mean anything good.

This entry was posted in Foreign Languages, Literatures, & Translation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is love?

  1. Pingback: Exam review tips | One Strange Sä-gə

Leave a Reply

