The A.P. Biology Examination

I am free to once more devote time to blogging, as I have finally returned from my cottage.  To speak precisely, I and Amanda (a great friend of whom I once spoke in an earlier post) made our way home late Saturday night; since then, I’ve been spending time with friends, family, and varied projects that I wished to complete.  At present, however, I am entirely free to discuss an abundance of items, and to finally respond to the varied comments that were graciously left on material that I brought forth much earlier.  My apologies for the hiatus.

Tonight’s post will be a brief one, as I wish to address more interesting aspects of life tomorrow (I’m going to be discussing the varied species that I discovered during my cottaging).  I just noted that the A.P. Examination results were returned several days ago; because I enjoyed them immensely, I feel compelled to share the free-response questions that were present on the tests this year.  I managed to retain the booklets for Biology, English Language, and English Literature; the below are simply the free-response questions that were posed to students writing the Biology examination this year.  I am posting them presently because many individuals had asked to view them; I intend to provide my responses to them at a later date. If it is desired, then I may also share the two English examinations.

A.P. Biology

1.  During the investigation of a freshwater lake, an AP Biology student discovers a previously unknown microscopic organism.  Further study shows that the unicellular organism is eukaryotic.
(a) Identify FOUR organelles that should be present in the eukaryotic organism and describe the function of each organelle.
(b) Prokaryotic cells lack membrane-bound organelles found in eukaryotes. However, prokaryotes must perform many of the same functions as eukaryotes. For THREE of the organelles identified in Part (a), explain how prokaryotic cells carry out the associated functions.
(c) According to the endosymbiotic theory, some organelles are believed to have evolved through a symbiotic relationship between eukaryotic and prokaryotic cells. Describe THREE observations that support the endosymbiotic theory.

2. Organisms utilize a diversity of methods to obtain proper nutrition.
(a) Some organisms digest food intracellularly, while others digest food extracellularly.

  • Identify ONE nonvertebrate organism that digests food extracellularly and describe the process.
  • Identify ONE nonvertebrate organism that digests food intracellularly and describe the process.

(b) Describe TWO structural features of the human stomach and/or small intestine. For each, explain how the structure relates to the function.
(c) Plants have a variety of mechanisms for obtaining nutrients. Describe TWO plant structures and explain how each structure is utilized in nutrient uptake.

3. Reproduction can be either asexual or sexual.
(a) Using a specific example, describe how organisms can reproduce asexually. Discuss TWO evolutionary advantages of asexual reproduction.
(b) Identify THREE ways that sexual reproduction increases genetic variability. For each, explain how it increases genetic diversity among the offspring.
(c) Discuss TWO prezygotic isolating mechanisms that prevent hybridization between two species. Include in your discussion an example of each mechanism.

There was a fourth question pertaining to transpiration that encompassed graph analysis, a discussion of the formulas for water potential, and physical adaptations that affect transpiration.

And that, effectively, is all! I’ve but one more note to add – I think that I will, in the coming days, procure a YouTube channel. Whilst it will be nothing spectacular, I hope to create videos that will discuss varied scientific concepts, and that will aid individuals in successfully studying an array of academic disciplines. Given that I’ve now taken both the S.A.T. I and several A.P. examinations, I also hope to be useful where those are concerned. Would this be moderately useful?

This entry was posted in Standardized Testing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The A.P. Biology Examination

  1. drake says:

    Wheres the answers? I only need the last part with the organisms

Leave a Reply

