Colloquial Chinese, hopefully

Albeit that I am a day late to effectively contribute last week’s post, I am here presently!  As I’d noted, I will strive to continue writing even amidst the looming of the A.P. examinations; to speak more specifically, I will concern myself with content relevant to the coming assessments.

That noted, prior to my A.P. endeavors, I’ve a Mandarin contest to participate in.  It consists of a presentational component (id est, of one’s demonstrating mastery of some activity or art that is characteristically Chinese), a three-minute speech (one writes this prior to coming and presents it whilst there), and a brief multiple-choice test concerning differing trivia surrounding China.

I’d initially desired that my speech be an explanation of the cognitive psychology of the those employing the Chinese writing system – how characters’ having useful components aid in quick memorization, how their being reminiscent of natural objects has influenced Chinese culture, and how their meanings are stored in the human brain.  I produced it; I was told by my former teacher that it was far too theoretical for the given environment – that I should write more informally, that I should attempt to connect with audience members, and that I should present only a sliver of what I’d initially intended to discuss.  Egad!

Here it is, then, decidedly colloquial, highly superficial, and rife with argumentum ad populam.  I will bring forth the other version at some point in the future.

大家好!  我叫 Sophia, 学习汉语大约三年了。去年我第一次参加了汉语桥

比赛 。 上次我很紧张, 不记得要说什么 。我希望这次会很好, 但我的膝盖在发

抖, haha 。

我很喜欢语言学,学习了十二门语言,可以用多种语言和人交谈。汉语是

世界上使用人数最多的语言,我怎么可能放过呢!在学习汉语的过程中,我

发现汉语是一种非常有趣的语言,它的四声常常让我们笑话百出;汉字很美,

但却让我们这些老外伤透了脑筋。不过要是知道它的规律,又觉得不太难学。

真是一种有魅力的语言。

有的时候我觉得汉语很容易,如果你知道了一个字的意思,再知道一些

其它字的意思,合起来就是一些新的词。比如:“包”字,就可以组成钱包、

书包、皮包、背包、提包等等。可是有的时候就不灵了。有一次,我和老师

说:我明天要出家,老师听了哈哈大笑起来,本来的意思是:明天离开家,

结果变成了明天去当尼姑。我的天哪!

我觉得汉字的造字方法也很有趣。比如说会意字,两个字的意思加起来

就是一个新的字。比如:日月明、小大尖、人木休、三木森。再比如指示字,

一个刀,加上一个点,表示刃字,很直观,也很容易记住。当然,有趣的事情

还很多。

学习汉语很有用,现在我已经可以用简单的汉语和我的中国朋友交谈,

很有成就感。如果有机会,我一定要去中国,亲眼看看这个古老又充满魅力

的国家。

谢谢大家!  我要感谢我的老师, 感谢汉语桥比赛!

Please excuse typographical errors – this was done very quickly.  I will be posting more frequently in the days to come, as I’m effectively attempting to review the entirety of A.P. Biology in a week – that should garner some interesting results.

This entry was posted in Chinese, Foreign Languages, Literatures, & Translation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Colloquial Chinese, hopefully

  1. XWS says:

    索菲亚, 你真是一个名副其实的天才!

    • Sophia says:

      谢谢您, 但我真的不是! 我只是很喜欢学习这些东西.
      尽管他不希望我这样说, 我觉得您的儿子是真正的天才.

Leave a Reply

