My schedule permits physics!

It seems that the paranoid rant I put forth on the second is now irrelevant.  I’ve found that I can, in fact, claim more time than I had thought; as such, here I am!

I’d like to introduce a fairly simple physics problem.  Whilst I’m trying to focus on completing M.I.T. O.C.W. problem sets, I found this to be a fun little question that really didn’t merit any writing, but required a moment of thought to properly answer.  Since someone’s having told me of it, I’ve found similar questions online, but have never chanced upon the same one.  As such, I’d be grateful for an explanation that would confirm (or disband) mine.  The fact that it was presented to me orally adds a cosy, whimsical aspect.  It goes a little something like this:

A ray of light (A) enters a raindrop and proceeds to exit it without any internal reflections.  Why can’t we see a zeroth order rainbow?  Hint:  To produce an effective explanation, examine rays of light like (A).

I will provide an explanation in a future post; for now, bask in the glow of the below – both a primary and a secondary bow, as captured by Neil some time in the May of 2009.  The secondary is on the right – fainter than the primary, its colors are reversed.

On another note entirely, I am participating in the Post a Week Challenge.  Despite my frenzied schedule, I hope to produce something at least twice weekly.  Why not engage in the challenge, too?

This entry was posted in Physics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My schedule permits physics!

  1. Anon says:

    Why not name it the Post Biweekly challenge?
    We all know you don’t go back on your word so its more motivation!

    • Sophia says:

      Regrettably, I’m uncertain as to whether or not I will be able to keep that up. I will attempt to, however – thank you for the thought! You’re right, it truly is more motivational that way.

Leave a Reply

