The Ivies

Some time ago, I and several friends found ourselves at Northern Secondary School viewing presentations as put forth by members of the Ivy League.  I say “found” primarily because my going stemmed from a well-established subconscious impulse to seek out all events American-university-related.

In any case, the visiting schools were Dartmouth, Penn, Harvard, Columbia, Brown, Princeton, and Stanford, if my memory does not fail me.  Although the latter isn’t one of the Ivies, it is awesome.  Ergo, no one complained that it had visited alongside the Hedera.

Speaking of which, the Ivies truly are analogous to the genus of ground-creeping plants with which they share their name.  Much like the fifteen species of ivy within Hedera, they are allopatric but closely related, and are commonly treated as varieties or subspecies of H. helix (or, in the case of the schools, U. verendus).

The presentations were rather well-done, with Stanford being the most appealing to me of those present.  Pamphlets were distributed, and I gathered quite a few for fear of missing out on invaluable information.

Apparently, many of the above-named institutions enjoy your updating them on your academic achievements even after selection has been seemingly completed; I’m glad for this, as it, metaphorically, grants me another year of study in anticipation of the biology Olympiad.

That noted, I’ve now concluded with total certainty that there exists absolutely no chance of my ever being accepted to one of the aforementioned institutions.  That said, I will apply regardless, as I am far too idealistic to avoid doing so.

Another problem arises – I’m not certain as to which universities I wish to apply to.  As per usual, M.I.T. surpasses all else; Stanford follows closely, alongside Yale, Cornell, Princeton, Stanford, and perhaps Harvard.  Where the Canadians are concerned, we’ve the University of Toronto, the University of Waterloo, McMaster University, and perhaps McGill.  I’m entirely aware that I need to narrow down my selections, but I’ve still a year to do so.

The above taken into account, I’m expecting approximately ten rejection letters, and perhaps one acceptance from U. of T.; if you’ll pardon my departure, I need to go synthesize a logical order for completing the M.I.T. application.

This entry was posted in Life & Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Ivies

  1. J says:

    It’s interesting to note that although the Ivies are the most respected and acclaimed universities, they are not the most desired. Tunnel vision is the last quality that an aspiring doctor (presumably) such as yourself should possess. Expand your horizons.

    • Sophia says:

      Hello there, J!

      Indeed, that is interesting to note; I agree with you entirely. A certain institution’s bearing the Ivy label doesn’t denote its being a great school. Reading this post again, I realize that I sounded quite narrow-minded when writing it; for that, I apologize. It isn’t typically within my personality to mindlessly praise people, items, or organizations, but I’ve retained the rather childish dream of going to either M.I.T. or Stanford for my undergraduate degree, and am thus prone to rambling about the aforementioned schools entirely without realizing that I am doing so.

      There exist many intriguing, action-packed, and entirely wonderful universities in other locations as well, and I should strive to realize this.

      I hope that I haven’t misinterpreted your comment; by whom are they not the most desired, if I may ask? I’m assuming that you mean that they may not necessarily be the best.

      Finally, on a slightly unrelated note, I don’t intend to be a doctor. Whilst I think it a profession of great nobility and capacity, I’ve absolutely no ability where people are concerned, and thus, I couldn’t handle patients well.

      • J says:

        Hey! My apologies for not replying promptly. Midterms have been a nightmare, and acquiring both streptococcus pharyngitis in conjunction to rhinovirus isn’t exactly the most pleasant of all feelings.

        NYU is actually the most desired university in America, believe it or not. Stern is less than ten minutes away from Wall Street, and Tisch is extremely close to the Broadway musical theaters that people attend.

        Think of it this way: I would rather be in a less prestigious university and be “in the center of it all” with an abundance of vocational and extracurricular opportunities than be secluded in a more prestigious place. I visited Cornell last summer, and I would say that although it was in a beautiful, picturesque location, it lacked the energy that the Big Apple had when I visited Columbia and NYU.

        Having said, MIT isn’t bad, considering the fact that a MIT student can take a cross-curriculum class with Harvard, so if you wanted to take, say, a specific economics course and Sloan doesn’t offer it, then you can walk across the Charleston River to Harvard to take that course.

        In case you’re wondering, UofT UW UWO Queens McMaster McGill UAlberta UBC Dalhousie trump the majority of American universities. No joke. And you must also realize that (besides Princeton) graduate programs are what largely determine a university’s prestige. Ever wonder how you don’t hear about an undergraduate student developing new medicine?

  2. nao says:

    If for whatever reason you end up not going to an American school for your undergraduate studies, don’t be discouraged. Schools such as those you’re interested in would have even more to offer at the graduate level. 🙂

    In any case, I’m really enjoying UofT so far. Good luck with whatever you decide to pursue.

    • Sophia says:

      Thanks – you’re entirely right, I think; I take solace in the fact that there is graduate school. It isn’t the question of when they’ve more to offer, in my case – inanely enough, it’s the concept of living the experience as soon as is possible (prematurely, in the eyes of some).

      I’m certain that UofT is amazing; I myself would be honored to study there. As to the luck, I thank you for it – I’ll require it.

Leave a Reply

