The Toronto Field Naturalists, Wikispecies, and an array of other items

Just earlier today, I managed to make my way to the monthly lecture being put on by Toronto Field Naturalists.  To exercise brevity in describing my present situation within the aforementioned organization, I will note, simply, that I’ve yet to become a member.  My visit has convinced me that I wish to do so – those present expressed such passion for conservational procedures that I was immediately taken with the idea of joining.  I am already eagerly anticipating John and Mary Theberge’s discussing, in their words, “ecosystems, evolution, and life” next month.

Today’s lecture, then, concerned C. m. melodus, the aptly-named Piping Plover of the Atlantic Coast and the Great Lakes.  An intriguing little bird, it exhibits many interesting behaviors, and is renowned for the audacity with which it protects its offspring, the strange manner in which males court females, and brooding its chicks.  It looks rather like C. vociferus (one of my favorite birds) to the untrained eye, but one can quickly note the differences amongst the two upon extended examination.

I find it necessary to note, too, that the Piping Plover is an endangered species with an abiding human-crafted history of being at risk.  This was the inspiration for the Piping Plover Project, a conservational effort coordinated by Stewart Nutt, who presented today.  The Piping Plovers have, for the past three years, successfully nested at Sauble Beach, a genuinely fascinating location that I’ve long desired to visit.

That said, I’d also wished to note that I am highly interested in becoming a member of the Toronto Ornithological Club, an organization that, within our vicinity, is regarded as brimming with enthusiasm and expertise.  I’ve found its allure thoroughly enchanting, and I sincerely hope that I will be able to procure a membership.

Onwards with Wikispecies.  To those that have not yet done so, peruse it!  It’s a fabulous resource, speaking taxonomically; that is all that I have to note, really.  I’m currently working on adding pages for Chortophaga and, in particular, C. viridifasciata.  Contribute if you’re at all tempted.

If you wish to find me for the remainder of the week, then I will be attempting to determine which form of differentiation I should study – cellular, semantic, planetary, or that which I will invariably encounter later in the semester.

This entry was posted in Biology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

