An introduction to the Cameron Lake Project

Although I didn’t mention this yesterday, I am presently at a cottage that my family has rented regularly for some time now.  A ten minutes’ drive from Fenelon Falls, it is located directly on Cameron Lake. I’ve always enjoyed visiting this location, primarily in anticipation of the many species of flora and fauna to be found in its vicinity. At present, I hear a rather uplifting medley of sounds: the gentle coursing of the wind through nearby sugar maples (A. saccharum), the lapping of the sunlit waves as they break, the distinctive droning  song of T. canicularis (the resident species of annual cicada), the light-hearted chirping of T. migratorius (the American Robin), and the plaintive, seemingly-small-bird call of P. haliaetus (the Osprey).  For lack of a better exclamation, “Ah!”  This is relaxation.

The trail that I regularly walk in search of wildlife.

This deceptively placid-looking location, however, is teeming with life; I’ve now been here for precisely eleven days, and have thus far observed exactly two-hundred and fifty distinct species.  It is my hope to note down exactly three-hundred and forty one by the time that I take my leave.  If I do so, then I will be able to write a short post once per day about a given species, and will have discussed all of them by the time that I am scheduled to return here next year.  Hopefully, this will be an interesting project – certainly, I’m assuming that my publishing an entry per day will guilt-trip me into studying for the I.B.O. during the school year, should I fall out of that habit by dint of too much calculus.  Anyway, I don’t wish to digress – I’ll be posting today’s entry (which discusses C. viridifasciata, the Northern Green-striped Grasshopper) in a few moments.

This entry was posted in Biology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

